About Us


The Lions Eye Bank of Nebraska (LEBN) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization founded in 1960 by the University of Nebraska Medical Center and the Lions Clubs of Nebraska.  Since its inception, LEBN has worked to provide Nebraskans with both the opportunity to give the gift of sight through eye donation after death and the chance to receive renewed sight through corneal transplant surgery.

The Lions Eye Bank of Nebraska carefully screens donors, performs the tissue recovery, evaluates, processes, and distributes ocular tissue for transplant. We serve as the vital link between donors and recipients in providing the precious gift of sight.

The Lions Eye Bank of Nebraska is a founding, fully accredited member of the Eye Bank Association of America (EBAA) and is registered with the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Mission Statement

Our mission is to provide the highest quality human eye tissue for transplant to restore vision to those with corneal difficulties while maintaining the utmost respect and care of our donors and our donor families.

Board of Directors

Lion Michael Hall, Chairman

Michael Halsted, MD, Medical Director

Russ Terman-White, Secretary/Treasurer

Lion Kaye Bellino

Lion Kathleen Beers

Curt Coughlin, Technical Director

Pat Donahue

Lion George "Ron" Flock

Lion Mavis Hall

L. Christi Kjar, Executive Director

Lion Tony Yonkers, MD


L. Christi Kjar, Executive Director

Curtis Coughlin, Technical Director

Jennifer Lederer, Tissue Procurement Manager

Angie Bashus, Quality Assurance Coordinator

Cindy Retallick, Tissue Procurement Coordinator

Carmen Pirruccello, Tissue Procurement Coordinator

Melissa Cline, Tissue Procurement Coordinator

Lion Angie Adler, Business Relations and Development Coordinator